Now available - Audio for ALL the verses! Click on the audio link below the verses

March 10th

Sanskrit Pearl of the day:
ईर्ष्यी घृणी त्वसन्तुष्टः क्रोधनो नित्यशङ्कितः
परभाग्योपजीवी च षडेते दुःखभागिनः

- हितोपदेश, मित्रलाभ

IrShyI ghRuNI tvasantuShTaH krodhano nityasha~gkitaH
parabhaagyopajIvI cha ShaDete duHkhabhaaginaH
- hitopadesha, mitralaabha

Meaning of the subhAShita:
The jealous, the repugnant, the un-contented, the resentful, the ever doubting and those living off of other people's wealth - These six are eligible for sorrow.

1. Jealousy towards other people yields no good. The person who is jealous is constantly plotting against his so-called 'enemy'. Hence can never be peaceful.

2. Repugnance, distaste or aversion towards anyone or anything can breed no beautiful thoughts along with them. Such a person is always miserable.

3. One with no contentment is constantly working his mind towards acquiring something more to satisfy him. There is no calmness in such a mind.

4. A resentful and angry person is never happy with anything or anyone. He expresses displeasure, every step of the way. How can pleasure even come near such a person?

5. A doubting Thomas, a sceptic, has no trust in any aspect of life. He needs constant assurance and physical evidence to make him believe every single dimension. Such an individual, probably can't even sleep in peace.

6. One living off of someone else's wealth has to constantly think of that someone literally! If the other person loses his source of income, so does he!! The parasitic guilt that accompanies the scenario is a whole other issue to deal with. How can such a person be happy!

Any person who is not at peace with himself, is always miserable, is not calm, not happy, not pleasant nor satisfied - how can delight come near such an individual! The verse even says, such a person almost deserves to be sorrowful, meaning he can't escape sorrow.

Don't worry, be happy!

pada vigrahaH:
ईर्ष्यी घृणी तु असन्तुष्टः क्रोधनो नित्य शङ्कितः
IrShyI ghRuNI tu asantuShTaH krodhano nitya sha~gkitaH

पर भाग्य उपजीवी च षट् एते दुःख भागिनः
para bhaagya upajIvI cha ShaT ete duHkha bhaaginaH

No comments:

Post a Comment